Gov. Abbott Appoints Commissioner of Insurance, Selects New Senior Staff Members

By TLTA Staff
September 2017

Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed Kent Sullivan as Commissioner of Insurance for a term set to expire Feb. 1, 2019. 
"We welcome Kent Sullivan as the new Commissioner and look forward to working with him and his staff at the Texas Department of Insurance," said Leslie Midgley, CAE, Executive Vice President and CEO of the Texas Land Title Association.
Kent Sullivan of Austin is a partner at Jackson Walker. He previously served as a justice on the Fourteenth Court of Appeals, first assistant attorney general for the Texas Office of the Attorney General and a state district court judge.

Read the Press Release About the New Commissioner of Insurance »
In addition, the governor recently announced changes to his senior staff. The governor's longtime Chief of Staff, Daniel Hodge, will be transitioning to the private sector and will be replaced by Luis Saenz, who prior to his most recent position as the Founder of Saenz Public Affairs, served as Gov. Abbott's Appointments Director. Gov. Abbott also announced the promotion and hiring of several new members of his administration.
Read the Press Release About Office of the Governor Staff Changes »