March 2015


March Madness: The Sweet 16 of Real Estate Brackets

Inman | March 26, 2015

Who would win the NCAA championship if the brackets were filled out based on real estate investing metrics. College towns have some of the best real estate markets in the country but which one tops the list? 

Read More»


TDI Reminds Consumers: Flood Coverage is Not Part of a Standard Homeowners Policy

TDI News | March 16, 2015

TDI issued a reminder to property owners to review your property's flood risk, your current insurance coverage and decide whether you need a separate flood policy. Most homeowners insurance policies do not provide flood coverage. 

Read More »


What You Need to Earn to Buy in 10 Cities

Daily Real Estate News | March 20, 2015

The National Association of Realtors created an informational graphic that takes a look at home prices in 10 metro areas and the income needed to purchase a home. Making the list is Austin, Texas with the median home price at $240,700. 

Read More»


In Memory of George Neel (1930- 2015) 

Long time TLTA member George Neel passed away on March 22, 2015 in Laredo. Neel was known for his passion for ranching and land. He was a respected businessman running Neel Title Corporation for more than 60 years. Neel served as Director and Secretary of the Texas Land Title Association from 1970-1975. 

Read the full obituary here. 


Access to Credit Still Biggest Hurdle for Millennials to Enter Real Estate Market

Inman | March 23, 2014

It has been tough for young homebuyers to enter the market but that could change with lower down payments and new programs aimed at helping first time homebuyers. With rent prices skyrocketing across the country more millennials will be looking to own, but will more access to credit mean a surge in first time homebuyers? 

Read More»


TLTA Staff Directory 

Leslie Midgley
Executive Vice President & CEO
Leslie@tlta.com
512.472.6593

Kim Schoppert
CAO & Assistant to the EVP
kim@tlta.com
512.879.2888
Aaron Day
Director of Government Affairs & Counsel
aaron@tlta.com
512.810.8800

Michael De La Rosa
Director of Operations & Technology
michael@tlta.com
512.879.2890

Lynne Daves
Director of Education, Meetings & Professional Development
lynne@tlta.com
512.879.2878

Andy North
Director of Marketing & Communications
andy@tlta.com
512.879.2880

Paula Thomas
Senior Accounting & 
Operations Manager
Paula@tlta.com
512.879.2892

Alex Ferber
Education & Meetings Assistant
alex@tlta.com
512.879.2882

Ian Mapua
Web & Graphics Specialist
ian@tlta.com
512.879.2877 

Rachel Kent
Communications Manager
rachel@tlta.com
512.879.28841
Angela Obolsky
Government Affairs Assistant
angela@tlta.com
512.879.2891  


Welcome to Our New TLTA Members!

We extend a warm welcome to our newest TLTA members:

Agent Members
MMREM Title, LLC
1199 S. Belt Line Rd., Suite 105
Coppell, TX 75019
Counties: Dallas, Collin, Denton,
Harris, Fort Bend and Tarrant
Main Contact: Greg Roddy
Phone: 469.777.4800
Email: g.roddy@mmrem.com
Website: www.mmrem.com
Other Company (Name & Date Founded):
Compile Abstracts: No
Write Insurance: Yes
Underwriter(s): FNTIC
Plant Complies: Yes
Date Approved: June 2014

Kane Title, LLC
5301 Village Creek Dr., Suite D
Plano, TX 75093
County: Collin
Main Contact: David L. Kane
Phone: 972.665.0055
Email: David@kanetitlellc.com
Website: www.kanetitlellc.com
Other Company (Name & Date Founded):
Compile Abstracts: No
Write Insurance: Yes
Underwriter(s): NATIC
Plant Complies: Yes     
Date Approved: June 2014

Associate Members
City of Houston –
Public Works & Engineering Dept.-
Real Estate Branch
611 Walker
Houston, TX 77002
Main Contact: Tameka Tennison
Phone: 832.395.3149
Email: Tameka.tennison@houstontx.gov
Website: www.houstontx.gov
Business Type: Municipal Government -
Real Estate Acquisition & Title Review

Corbin Law, PC
405 S. Birmingham St.
Wylie, TX 75098
Main Contact: Valera Corbin
Phone: 972.442.5700
Email: vcorbin@corbinlawoffice.com
Website: www.corbinlawoffice.com
Business Type: Legal Services


David Le, Attorney At Law
442 Lakehurst Dr.
Murphy, TX 75094
Main Contact: David Le
Phone: 832.877.5097
Email: davidmdle@gmail.com
Website: NA
Business Type: Legal 

M. Keith Stitt & Associates
2761East Skelly Drive, Suite 100
Tulsa, OK 74105
Main Contact: Keith Stitt
Phone: 918.828.0110
Email: kstitt@colonialtitleinc.com
Business Type: Law Firm

O'Brien Mueller PLLC
10924 Vance Jackson, Suite 10A
San Antonio, TX 78230
Main Contact: Dan O’Brien
Phone: 512.615.3580
Email: dobrien@obrienmueller.com
Website: www.danielobrienlaw.com
Business Type: Fee office for Stewart

David Jones Consulting
2312 Gilia Drive
Austin, TX 78733
Main Contact: David Jones
Phone: 847.815.2419
Email: sterlingcrown7@gmail.com
Website: NA
Business Type: Expert Witness/consulting 

The Wade Law Firm
12700 Preston Road, Suite 265
Dallas, TX 75229
Main Contact: Kim Wade
Phone: 972.233.1100
Email: kwade@wadelaw.com
Business Type: Closing Attys for Stewart Title Co.

Harrison & Hull, LLP
112 West Virginia
McKinney, TX 75069
Main Contact: Thad Barreneche
Phone: 214.585.0094
Email: tbarreneche@harrisonhull.com
Website: www.harrisonhull.com
Business Type: Law Firm
Underwriter Members

First American Title Guaranty Company
1500 S. Dairy Ashford, Suite 300
Houston, TX 77077
Main Contact: Michael Savas
Phone: 281.588.2200
Email: msavas@firstam.com
Website: www.firstam.com
Date Approved: July 2014


Sign Up Today for TLTA South Texas Seminar on April 11th

NEW THIS YEAR:  TLTA is bringing two hot topic sessions to McAllen on Saturday, April 11. Choose between the TILA/RESPA Readiness Training Session to get you ready for the new regulations going into effect in August or pick the Endorsements, Exclusions & Examination Session, perfect for plant and policy personnel! Click Here for more info. 

Register Today! 


Why Earn a Professional Certification?

As you know, lenders and their regulators are asking title agents to meet certain new standards. Becoming part of the elite group of Texas certified professionals is an ideal way to set you and your company apart in this new competitive environment! 

April 8th Deadline for Austin Exam 
Apply Now

Who Should Apply?
If you've been in the industry for several years, you likely have the experience to take the exam. 
See the application for more information about the requirements.